HUMANOTOP Avantis

Creating new living and working spaces together – HUMANOTOP Avantis

Higher, faster, further – an outdated view?

For decades, it was all about superlatives: further, faster, higher, more powerful and bigger. Today, the organization Ingenieure retten die Erde e.V. (Engineers Save the Earth) asks the question: Shouldn’t we all strive for a new maxim, a different world view in the future?

How about sharpening our sense of sustainability? The progress of the past decades, which has advanced mankind in many respects, has not passed the environment by without leaving a trace. It is time to take the influences on the environment and nature seriously and to act in the spirit of sustainability. This was the thought of Achim Kampker, professor at RWTH Aachen University in the field of mechanical engineering and head of RWTH’s Chair of Electric Vehicle Production (PEM), when he founded the organization Ingenieure retten die Erde e.V. in 2019 (https://humanotop.earth/).

Humanotop

A central goal of the organization: the construction of so-called HUMANOTOPS. A HUMANOTOP represents the concept of a city of the future in which resource neutrality is created. It covers five central areas: Life (or living space), mobility, ecology, energy and production.


Looking at our cities today, we have largely driven nature and biodiversity out of city centers into the surrounding countryside or into nature reserves, while urban spaces consist largely of sealed surfaces. In HUMANOTOP, this division is to be defused, the different areas are to complement each other and co-exist harmoniously. But how do you start with such a big vision? Quite simply: by starting.

„It is not about realizing all points at once, it is about starting in the first place. One step at a time, towards a better and more sustainable future.“ Prof. Achim Kampker

An old idea rethought – Avantis

Shortly after the conclusion of the Maastricht Treaty in 1992, the idea of establishing a cross-border industrial and business park as a European real laboratory of the Economic Union was born. This was the birth of the AVANTIS industrial park. Eight years later, the area was actually to be built. Even before all the plots had been sold, the large-scale project was launched. In 2007, a state treaty was signed between Germany and the Kingdom of the Netherlands, which was supposed to simplify cross-border cooperation. But things turned out differently than planned – the global financial crisis of 2008 didn’t stop at the young industrial park.

„We have always believed in the concept of an inter-European business park. Today, we see new opportunities to rekindle the euphoria of yesteryear and establish Avantis as an attractive business park.“ project partner

In the meantime, a large part of the land has been sold – logistics companies in particular have settled in the north, and high-tech companies in particular in the south. Our move at the beginning of 2020 was no coincidence either. Together with our network partners, we have established the Competence Center for Sustainable Mobility. Here we combine different approaches, ways of thinking and working with a common goal: to develop the mobility and logistics of the future.

Project HUMANOTOP AVANTIS

Together with our partners from the Parkstad Limburg, the city region of Aachen, the city of Aachen and the urban planners and architects from RHA Reicher Haase Assoziierte and Maurer United, we took the first step towards a humanotop, analyzed the model region in the Avantis industrial park and developed a plan of action.


The aim of the project was to analyze the Avantis area and its surroundings and to identify various key projects that tie in with the vision of the Humanotop. Specifically, the areas of “habitat”, “mobility”, “ecology”, “energy” and “production” were considered.

The analysis – what options and challenges does the area offer?

When analyzing the surrounding area, one thing quickly became clear: Until now, different areas of use have been isolated from each other. The business park itself also represents an almost isolated area. Due to the predominant development with production halls and only a few multi-story office complexes, Avantis has a predominantly low building density and space efficiency. Typical for today’s industrial areas, Avantis consists of large sealed surfaces.


In terms of transportation, Avantis has so far been accessible primarily by private motorized transport – the poor frequency of public transport and the distances that are generally too long for cyclists ensure that only a few users of Avantis resort to alternatives to the private car. From a sustainability perspective, this is anything but ideal.

But the area also offers a lot of potential. For example, in the area of energy generation through photovoltaic systems on factory roofs. In addition to all the challenges, it can be said that the site is characterized by a high proportion of open space. However, the poor quality of the open spaces and their poor interconnectedness with the adjacent uses limit their usability.

A special feature is the unique location on the German-Dutch border – in some cases, including our office, the border runs right through the building.

What now? The new mission statement and master plan for the HUMANOTOP Avantis

Based on the analysis and the guiding principles of the Humanotop, a guiding principle for Avantis was formulated within the project:

“As a European real laboratory, the Avantis business park and its innovative companies are driving the technological transformation currently underway in various sectors such as urban development, mobility, logistics and energy. Not only in terms of international cooperation on future technologies, but also in terms of increasing the added value for the resident companies, Avantis is breaking new ground, developing innovative concepts and putting them into practice.”

In the future, the focus of the location’s use is to be increasingly on technology and research-oriented business. For example, the idea of a hydrogen reallaboratory was developed, which as a key project would optimally link the topics of energy and mobility and bring with it the potential for a whole series of possible expansions and follow-up projects.


Another key project aims to achieve a greater mix of uses. In addition to a neighborhood square, public services such as a daycare center and a cafeteria are to be located at the “common center.


But that’s not all: Other ideas deal with better accessibility of Avantis by sustainable means of transport as well as stronger networking of the resident companies to enable better exchange and promote innovation.

In the field of ecology, a lot is to be done as well. There are ideas to use existing open spaces for wildflowers / bee meadows and, among other things, to maintain the greatest possible biodiversity by establishing bee colonies.


As PEM Motion, we are pleased to be part of this exciting project and, together with our partners, to make an important contribution to the Avantis of tomorrow, particularly in the area of research and development for logistics and mobility solutions of the future.

„Avantis was considered promising at the time and still is today. The jointly developed analysis and the correspondingly derived solution modules will shape a new era of Avantis as a place of the future.“ project partner

HUMANOTOP Avantis

Gemeinsam neue Lebens- und Arbeits(t)räume schaffen – HUMANOTOP Avantis

Höher, schneller, weiter – eine überholte Sichtweise?

Jahrzehnte lang ging es um Superlative: Weiter, schneller, höher, leistungsstärker und größer. Heute stellt der Verein Ingenieure retten die Erde e.V. die Frage: Sollten wir alle in Zukunft nicht eine neue Maxime, ein anderes Weltbild anstreben?

Wie wäre es, wenn wir unseren Sinn für die Nachhaltigkeit schärfen? Der Fortschritt der vergangenen Jahrzehnte, der die Menschheit in vielerlei Hinsicht weitergebracht hat, ist nicht spurlos an der Umwelt vorbeigezogen. Es ist an der Zeit, die Einflüsse auf Umwelt und Natur ernst zu nehmen und im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit zu handeln. Diesen Gedanken hatte Achim Kampker, Professor der RWTH Aachen im Bereich Maschinenbau und Leiter des Lehrstuhls für Elektromobilproduktion (PEM) der RWTH, als er 2019 den Verein Ingenieure retten die Erde e.V. (https://humanotop.earth/) gründete.

Humanotop

Ein zentrales Ziel des Vereins: der Aufbau sogenannter HUMANOTOPE. Ein HUMANOTOP stellt das Konzept einer Stadt der Zukunft dar, in der Ressourcenneutralität geschaffen wird. Es erstreckt sich auf fünf zentrale Bereiche: Leben (bzw. Lebensraum), Mobilität, Ökologie, Energie und Produktion.


Betrachtet man unsere Städte heute, haben wir die Natur und die Artenvielfalt weitestgehend aus den Stadtkernen in das Umland oder in Naturschutzgebiete vertrieben, während urbane Räume zum Großteil aus versiegelten Flächen bestehen. Im HUMANOTOP soll diese Teilung entschärft werden, die verschiedenen Bereiche sollen sich ergänzen und harmonisch Co-existieren. Doch wie fängt man an, bei einer so großen Vision? Ganz einfach: Indem man eben anfängt.

„Es geht nicht darum, alle Punkte auf einmal zu realisieren, es geht darum überhaupt anzufangen. Einen Schritt nach dem anderen, hin zu einer besseren und nachhaltigeren Zukunft.“ Prof. Achim Kampker

Eine alte Idee neu gedacht – Avantis

Kurz nach der Schließung des Vertrags von Maastricht 1992 entstand die Idee der Gründung eines grenzüberschreitenden Industrie- und Gewerbegebietes als Europäisches Reallabor der Wirtschaftsunion. Die Geburtsstunde des Gewerbeparks AVANTIS. Acht Jahre später sollte das Gebiet tatsächlich gebaut werden. Noch bevor alle Grundstücke verkauft waren startete das Großprojekt. 2007 wurde zwischen Deutschland und dem Königreich Niederlande ein Staatsvertrag abgeschlossen, der die grenzüberschreitende Zusammenarbeit vereinfachen sollte. Doch es kam anders als geplant – die globale Finanzkrise 2008 machte auch vor dem jungen Gewerbegebiet nicht Halt.

„Wir haben immer an das Konzept eines intereuropäischen Gewerbegebiets geglaubt. Heute sehen wir neue Chancen die Euphorie von damals wieder zu entfachen und Avantis als attraktiven Gewerbeparkt zu etablieren.“ Projektpartner

Inzwischen ist ein Großteil der Grundstücke veräußert – im Norden haben sich insbesondere Betriebe für Logistik, im Süden vor allem High-Tech Betriebe angesiedelt. Auch unser Umzug Anfang 2020 war kein Zufall. Gemeinsam mit unseren Netzwerk-Partnern haben wir das Kompetenzzentrum für nachhaltige Mobilität aufgebaut. Hier vereinen wir verschiedene Ansätze, Denk- und Arbeitsweisen mit einem gemeinsamen Ziel: Die Mobilität und Logistik der Zukunft zu entwickeln.

Projekt HUMANOTOP AVANTIS

Gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern von der Parkstad Limburg, der Städteregion Aachen, der Stadt Aachen sowie den Stadtplanern und Architekten von RHA Reicher Haase Assoziierte und Maurer United haben wir den ersten Schritt hin zu einem Humanotop gemacht, die Modellregion im Gewerbegebiet Avantis analysiert und einen Maßnahmenplan entwickelt.


Ziel des Projekts war es, das Gebiet von Avantis sowie die Umgebung zu analysieren und verschiedene Schlüsselprojekte zu identifizieren, die an die Vision des Humanotops anknüpfen. Konkret betrachtet wurden dabei die Bereiche „Lebensraum“, „Mobilität“, „Ökologie“, „Energie“ und „Produktion“.

Die Analyse – welche Optionen und Herausforderungen bietet das Gebiet?

Bei der Analyse der Umgebung wurde eines schnell deutlich: Bisher sind verschiedene Nutzungsräume voneinander isoliert. Auch der Business-Park selbst stellt eine nahezu isolierte Fläche dar. Durch die überwiegende Bebauung mit Produktionshallen und nur wenigen mehrgeschossigen Bürokomplexen weist Avantis eine vorwiegend geringe Bebauungsdichte und Flächeneffizienz auf. Typisch für heutige Industriegebiete besteht Avantis aus großen versiegelten Flächen.


Verkehrstechnisch ist Avantis bisher insbesondere durch den motorisierten Individualverkehr zu erreichen – die schlechte Taktung des ÖPNV sowie die für Fahrradfahrer in der Regel zu langen Strecken sorgen dafür, dass nur wenige Nutzer von Avantis auf Alternativen zum PKW zurückgreifen. Aus Sicht der Nachhaltigkeit alles andere als ideal.

Doch bietet das Gebiet auch viele Potenziale. Beispielsweise im Bereich der Energieerzeugung durch Photovoltaik-Anlagen auf den Fabrikdächern. Es lässt sich neben all der Herausforderungen festhalten: Der Standort wird von einem hohen Freiraumanteil geprägt. Die defizitäre Aufenthaltsqualität und geringe Vernetzung der Freiräume mit den angrenzen Nutzungen schränkt jedoch deren Nutzbarkeit ein.

Als Besonderheit hervorzuheben ist insbesondere die einzigartige Lage auf der deutschniederländischen Grenze – in einigen Fällen, so auch in unserem Office, verläuft die Grenze mitten durch das Gebäude.

Was nun? Das neue Leitbild und der Masterplan für das HUMANOTOP Avantis

Auf Basis der Analyse und der Leitbilder des Humanotops wurde innerhalb des Projekts ein Leitbild für Avantis formuliert:

„Als europäisches Reallabor treibt der Business-Park Avantis mit seinen innovativen Unternehmen den technologischen Wandel voran, der aktuell in verschiedenen Sektoren wie der Stadtentwicklung, dem Mobilitäts- und Logistiksektor sowie in der Energiebranche vollzogen wird. Nicht nur bei der internationalen Zusammenarbeit in Bezug auf Zukunftstechnologien, sondern auch hinsichtlich der Steigerung des Mehrwerts für die ansässigen Unternehmen, geht Avantis neue Wege, entwickelt innovative Konzepte und setzt diese um.“

Der Nutzungsschwerpunkt des Standorts soll künftig verstärkt im technologie- und forschungsorientierten Gewerbe liegen. So wurde beispielsweide die Idee eines Wasserstoff-Reallabors ausgearbeitet, welches als Schlüsselprojekt die Themenfelder Energie und Mobilität optimal miteinander verknüpft und das Potenzial für eine ganze Reihe möglicher Erweiterungen und Anschlussprojekte mit sich bringen würde.


Mit einem weiteren Schlüsselprojekt wird eine stärkere Nutzungsmischung angestrebt. An der „gemeinsamen Mitte“ sollen neben einem Quartiersplatz auch öffentliche Einrichtungen der Daseinsvorsorge, wie KiTa und Mensa angesiedelt werden.


Damit nicht genug: Weitere Ideen befassen sich mit einer besseren Erreichbarkeit von Avantis mit nachhaltigen Verkehrsmitteln sowie einer stärkeren Vernetzung der ansässigen Unternehmen, um einen besseren Austausch zu ermöglichen und Innovationen zu fördern.

Auch im Bereich der Ökologie soll einiges geschehen. So sind gibt es Ideen vorhandene Freiflächen für Wildblumen / Bienenwiesen zu nutzen und unter anderem durch die Ansiedelung von Bienenvölkern eine möglichst große Artenvielfalt zu erhalten.


Als PEM Motion freuen wir uns Teil dieses spannenden Projekts zu sein und gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern insbesondere im Bereich der Forschung und Entwicklung für Logistik und Mobilitätslösungen der Zukunft einen wichtigen Beitrag für das Avantis von morgen zu leisten.

„Avantis galt damals als zukunftsträchtig und ist es auch heute noch. Die gemeinsam erarbeitete Analyse und die entsprechend abgeleiteten Lösungsbausteine werden ein neues Zeitalter von Avantis als Zukunftsort prägen.“ Projektpartner